My Sourdough Journey: January 2015 – The Journey Continues

Happy New Year to everybody in Social Media Land. I hope you all had a wonderful Christmas and are still enthusiastic about taking 2015 by storm!

Have a listen to this song, and don’t pay too much attention to the costumes: they are so ’70s but I like this recording of the age old song, ‘We Have Come this far by Faith‘.

I can’t believe January is almost finished already. Since arriving in London, I have been in somewhat of a holiday mode, for want of a better term. But all gears will have to change come February 2 when I start my new assignment as coordinator for the charity, Word for Weapons.

It’s an exciting time for me and even though changes can be scary, I’m looking forward to great things in many spheres of my life.

On my last day at church at Eim Brecon Church in Wales, after Pastor Malcolm asked me to tell the congregation where I was going and what I’d be doing, a lady came up to me following the service and handed me a beautiful little book entitled, ‘Stepping Stones to Freedom’ by Rachel Hickson. It was a dateless devotional book, all about journeys!

Journeys of all things! My heart was touched and energised as I browsed through it.

“This set of meditations,” it said in the introduction, “has been written to help you to rediscover your purpose in life and activate your desire to discover who you truly are. So you need to set your heart on a pilgrimage of discovery and make the decision that you will allow the word of God to change the way you think about yourself and your future.”

And so even as my journey ends in one sense, in that my stint in Hay-on-Wye is behind me; in another sense, it is just beginning. It is just beginning in that I am at the start of another new year, with its traditional beckonings of aspirations to start over; and it is just beginning in that I am alive, and as long as that is the case I. . .we. . .are all on a journey – the journey of life.

I trust that as January draws to a close, you are still anticipating, planning and already working towards your goals and dreams for 2015. I have already hit a few tough spots on my journey but since I’ve come this far by faith, I’ll continue to lean on the Lord in full anticipation of reaching a safe harbour!

I wish for you the attainment of a safe harbour too and Godspeed as we again journey together.

Leave a Reply

