A Frustrating Day

Much to my chargrin, I’m becoming like these Londoners, running around like a chicken with its head cut off! Despite the fact that I heard it said at the Splash of Colour conference I attended recently that life is not an emergency, I sometimes find myself treating it as though it were.

Yesterday was particularly trying. I tackled at least three different tasks, rushing all three, with the end result that I completed none and had this nasty feeling of total unfulfilment at the end of the day. I found myself thinking I may as well have stayed in bed all day and watched TV!

As I left my last assignment near Tower Bridge, I thought how can I salvage the day? What meaningful thing can I do so I don’t have to go to bed tonight thinking I have accomplished absolutely zilch all day? And the only thing that beckoned me was to transform myself into a tourist and set myself the goal to walk across Tower Bridge—I’ve never walked across it before. And so that’s exactly what I did.

It was a great day for it too: pleasant sunshine and hoards of other tourists around. As I sauntered along among them, I settled it with myself that life is definitely not an emergency, and I determined to finish at least one task before the end of day and that was to stop and smell the roses.

Well, I had a really nice walk, and it gave me time to just calm my mind and re-evaluate my emotions. Sometimes it’s good to just get some down time when you’re feeling stressed. And when you stop to count your blessings you’ll probably find that things aren’t as bad as you feel they are. I actually stopped to count mine and yes, I’m struggling with a few things right now but life is a celebration, and it’s certainly worth living.

Afternoon tourist: strolling across Tower Bridge.

Afternoon tourist: strolling across Tower Bridge.

Leave a Reply

