Giving Thanks – Christmas 2016

One Thousand Gifts

One Thousand Gifts

I have not written a post for a loooong time. I just wanted to add something before year end so am sharing something I shared in another private forum. (And I\ve still been making, and eating, bread all this while. Hope you all had a wonderful Christmas, and here’s wishing you every blessing for 2016.

It’s great to be able to pick up a half read book and re-enter its glory. pg. 106 (of One Thousand Gifts by Ann Voskamp) echoes where I am at. It says: “But I am not a woman who ever lives the full knowing. I am a wandering Israelite who sees the flame in the sky above, the pillar, the smoke from the mountain, the earth open up and give way, and still I forget. I am beset by chronic soul amnesia. I empty of truth and need the refilling. I need come again every day – bend, clutch and, remember – for who can gather the manna but once, hoarding, and store away sustenance in the mind for all of the living?”

I thank God for this season and the approaching new year when I, we, can take another moment to give thanks for everything and remind ourselves what an awesome God we have.

Yes, that’s my ‘One Thousand Gifts’ book pictured here – and I found that leaf in it that I put there in the Autumn – another beautiful and forgotten gift!

Leave a Reply

