Visit to Aston’s Bakery, Lambourne

Bread made with Spelt starter from Aston's Bakery.

Sourdough Spelt Bread made with Spelt starter from Aston’s Bakery.

Delicious sourdough Spelt bread made from Spelt sourdough starter from Aston's Bakery. I really had myself a treat!

Delicious sourdough Spelt bread made from Spelt sourdough starter from Aston’s Bakery. I really had myself a treat!

I had a wonderful day with Syd, Olga, Unella and the rest of the awesome team at Astons Bakery a few weeks ago. I had some of their loaves to take home and my friend and I had a midnight feast (bread and butter of course) on my return to London.

I made some more bread a few days later  (pictured above). My loaves are not as great as those from Aston’s Bakehouse but this one in the photo was especially nice. I made it with a fresh supply of Aston’s spelt starter, and I think maybe I did not overferment my dough as usually happens. I also topped it with some linseeds before baking and the crust was so crispy and crunchy and nutty and nice! I ate half the loaf after dinner!

I’m not in the pic but my teeth marks are (see that half eaten slice on the plate there? Yes, delicious!) I am well and truly full and satisfied. Now to bed, and looking forward to the rest of the loaf for breakfast in the morning. Looking forward to also visiting the bakery again later in the new year. Happy New Year you all, and especially to my friends at Aston’s! x x

Leave a Reply

