Thermopen in Action!

Thermopen in Bread

This is a no frills sourdough: no kneading, no patterns, no nuts, no seeds – I just wanted some bread to eat. It was even a little over fermented because at bed time, it wasn’t quite ready to go into the oven and I wasn’t in the mood to lose any sleep over it. This morning, I popped it into the oven, and the no frills got exciting when I remembered that my new Thermopen was still sitting on the shelf in its box! It came last week and I can’t believe I forgot about it.

Anyway, I got it out, tested my bread and WALLAH! My bread was done. An internal temperature anywhere from 88.77 C to 98.88 C (190 – 210 F) and the bread is done, according to Cultures for Health. So all along, before Thermopen, I had actually been overbaking my loaves.

Now, I know this is not the most handsome loaf – here’s the full picture:

first bread with thermopen

but you better believe I’m going to struggle not to eat it all in a day!

Here, however, are some I did a while back (I can’t wait to get all frilly again, but this time with Thermopen in hand!):

Spelt free form stacked on plate

Right now, though, I’m off to Borough Market.

Have a great weekend everyone!

Leave a Reply

